Silver and Gold, Sweat-y Sandwiches and Sweet Mornings

I absolutely love mornings like this one!

Usually, when I wake up, I feel extremely stiff. I can’t really explain why that is, but it’s been this way for as long as I can remember. I think it is a result of my now moving during my eight hours of glorious rest. I know people say you can’t know if you’re really that still while sleeping, but I’m telling you I am; I’ve conducted experiments.

This morning I woke up – not stiff – but refreshed. The sun had been shining and it was only 5:30 in the morning! You all know what that means: summertime! The temperature was quite unpleasant, however, so I wasted no time getting out to create this morning’s bowl oats.

Ah! Oatmeal.

Lately, I’ve been on a bit of an apricot craze. I love them.

After devouring this beautiful bowl, I decided to take, yet another, plunge and design my very own interval work out.

Strength and Speed Sandwich Workout
You’ll need: Interval Timer, 5-10 pound weights and a mat
Set your interval timer for two rounds of ten minutes;
Set your intervals for 90seconds/30 seconds.
You’ll be completing five different exercises, which will each consist of two exercises (one cardiovascular and one toning) back to back. Essentially, they’re supersets.
At the end of your first ten minute circuit, lightly jog for 5 minutes, then repeat.

Exercise Duo One:
90 seconds of jump squats at maximum effort
30 seconds of squats with side leg raise, alternating left and right

Exercise Duo Two:
90 seconds of toe touching skaters at maximum effort
30 seconds of curtsy lunges with bicep curls (with weights), alternating left and right

Exercise Duo Three:
90 seconds plank jacks at maximum effort
30 seconds of in-plank rows and tri extensions (with weights)

Exercise Duo Four:
90 seconds flying jumping lunges at maximum effort
30 seconds of lunges with lateral arm raises (with weights)

Exercise Duo Five:
90 seconds oblique jumps (preform a jumping squat, but twist your body coming down and touch your toes – hand to opposite foot)
30 seconds tummy tucks (please keep a neutral spine)

Rest for one minute, then lightly jog for the remaining four minutes of your resting period and repeat the circuit.

Since I’ve decided to partake in Sweet Tooth Sweet Life June Yoga Challenge, I knew my work out couldn’t stop there!

Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life

I completely a quick ten minute yoga routine and called it a day.

Think-y Thoughts

I think… a lot. So, in every post, I will include one of my ‘Think-y Thoughts’.

Today’s Think-y Thought is about friendship. Recently, I’ve rekindled a friendship with someone who I used to love greatly.

After a lot of hmming and hawing, we spent a lovely afternoon together walking around Point Pleasant Park, then enjoying a lovely meal at my favorite local restaurant, The Wooden Monkey. Since then, we’ve kept in contact – she’s even come to me to be her personal fitness guru and I love it!

As a result of this, I’ve been thinking a lot of friendships. This particular friendship had been on that I had somewhat written off. It was not that I wanted it to, but we hadn’t spoken in a long while. In fact, the last time we had seen each other, it was evident that she was having a difficult time looking at me. At that point, I was not healthy. I looked frail and it scared her, understandably. Finally, we discussed this. I told her how it made me feel, and she told me how she had just been scared.

I’m so thankful that we made this connection. There are certain people in your life that you should never let go. And, in the event that you do, I beg that you try to reconnect with them. Friendships – true friendships – should not be passing ships, but rather those little house boats than just stay put at a dock! So, today, rather think fondly on an old friendship, or if you’re really brazen, reconnect with someone from your past to whom you miss!

How about you? Are there any friendships or people you wish you still had in your life?

Stay sweet,
tata
Caitlyn

Leave a comment