Let them have their cake and eat it, too!

over the breakfast bowl

How far is too far?

Today, while enjoying my breakfast, my dad was watching the news – and I was listening while meandering the internet – and I overheard something a little ridiculous. Schools are going to ban the cake from a cake walk from in-school fundraisers.

So, basically, we’re going to be walking? For what? If you say carrots I might have to smack on you a little bit.

Now, this might seem like an odd view coming from me – a crazy health nut – but the way I see it, cake is a ‘fun’ food. Naturally I do not advocate letting your child’s nutrition come solely from baked goods, but I see no reason why they cannot indulge in a cake they won during a age-old game – that I’ve never really understood, but was always happy to receive the cake.

I just find that health and nutrition is becoming a bit overwhelming, in some regards. My personal philosophy on food is -quite evidently – if I can’t read it I don’t need it and therefore, I am not eating it. People often ask me if I would ever consider enforcing this mindset upon my children (like refusing to let my child partake in a game such as a cake walk) and the answer is simple, heck no. In fact, I’d encourage it.

I remember cake walks fondly as a child. I remember walking around that circle (as mentioned, thinking: ‘guys, what is this?… I mean, ya okay… cake, but really?), with a smile plastered on my face as I peered over at the beautiful array of cakes. The mere notion of not allowing my future children to partake in such a thing is just… depressing.

What do you all think?

Cake Walks or Carrot Walks?

You know what, let’s just have Carrot Cake Walks and call it a day

Stay Sweet,
Caitlyn.

Leave a Reply

