The Bend and HIIT work out!

Good morning! I hope the weather where you are is more pleasant than it is here.

today’s workout

This morning I woke up feeling a bit stiff and in need of a good stretch. But, lately, for some reason, all I ever want to do is sweat like crazy. I think – just maybe – I am getting addicted to the endorphin release that cardio work brings me!

I knew I wanted to incorporate yoga into my work out today, but I also knew I wanted to get my heart-rate up! So, I woke up – 5AM, unfortunately – and got to work!

I know it is probably totally lame, but in the mornings, I get so pumped about my work outs that I can’t sleep… lame-o, I know. I just can’t help but think: ‘how can I challenge myself today?’

So, I pulled out the ol’ pen and paper and jotted down a hybrid workout, incorporating simple – yet effective – yoga postures, with simple body-weight cardiovascular moves. And let me tell you, I’m pretty happy with the results!

Bend and HIIT!
You will need: yoga mat, interval timer, water, towel
Have your interval timer set to 3 sets of 10 minutes and 30 seconds. There will be seven 30sec/60sec intervals in each set. Make your ‘rest’ time 3 minutes long.
Start with your warm up: 10-15 Sun Salutations
Do each movement to breath – like a vinyasa flow. This will get your body warm and heart-rate elevated!

Now, start your timer:

Move one:
Hold downward dog position for 20-30 seconds time (depending on how long it takes you to get into position);
Do burpees for 60 seconds at maximum effort

Move two:
Hold Warrior 1 position with right leg forward for 20-30 seconds;
Do high knees for 60 seconds at maximum

Move three:
Hold Warrior 1 position with left leg foward for 20-30 seconds;
Do high knees (or but kicks) for 60 seconds at maximum effort

Move four:
Hold Warrior 2 position with right leg forward for 20-30 seconds;
Do skater jumps for 60 seconds at maximum effort;

Move five:
Hold Warrior 2 position with left leg forward for 20-30 seconds;
Do skater jumps (or side lunge with a jump up) for 60 seconds at max effort;

Move six:
Hold chair position for 20-30 seconds;
Do jumping squats for 60 seconds at maximum effort;

Move Seven:
Hold plank position for 20-30 seconds;
Do plank jacks (or mountain climbers) for 60 seconds at maximum effort

You’ll complete the circuit three times through, with three minutes of light cardio (I jumped on my stationary bike) in between. You’re welcomed to use this three minutes to rest. But, I do beg that you – at least – walk briskly to keep the heart rate slightly up.

I was kind of a sweat-y mess following this bad-boy…

Nothing more attractive than that, huh? That is my ‘good lord, I look disgusting’ face.

Never-the-less, I really loved this work out. The reason I made it is because I decided to partake in Courtney/Sweet Tooth Sweet Life’s yoga challenge for June (which couldn’t have come at a more perfect time, as I’ve recently decided that I need more yoga in my life!

Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life

I’ve been loving my HIIT works out so much, that I didn’t want to go a day without doing them. I also made a pact with myself recently. I’ve always had an issue with exercise. I often will over do it for myself. I, personally, like to work out every day. And, with the way that I eat, there is no reason for me to be doing long work outs – much like I was doing – at such a high intensity. So, to prove that I am able to shorten my work outs, I made a pact that none of my work outs can exceed 40 minutes in length. The typical yoga work out is 30 minutes, or more. Sometimes, they’re 10 to fifteen. But, typically speaking! I’ve become very passionate about making this a priority in my work outs – more for my mind than anything else.

So, instead of breaking my rule (though, I think that rounded up to be 45 minutes… no big deal) I decided to do a hybrid work out! And, I couldn’t have been happier with it.

2 thoughts on “The Bend and HIIT work out!

Leave a Reply

