Chaturanga Charge Work Out and a Simple Sunday

Hello everyone,

a simple sunday

As it is Sunday, I decided to do – yet another – simple Sunday. Today’s involves something that is quite simple, indeed.

Apples (a simple sugar) and green tea.

After lunch, I always need an apple and a cup of green tea. My lunch just doesn’t feel complete without it. There is a warmth I get (obviously from the tea) while enjoying this combination. I also love how something as small as an apple can be both a) yummy and b) extremely good for you!

Tea is a big deal for me. I absolutely love everything about tea. A lot of people call me an old lady, and I am pretty alright with that. I love the feeling of curling up in the afternoon with a cup of tea and a sweet fruit. Nothing gets better than that in my mind.

today’s work out

I’ve been having some issues with my computer, lately, so this morning while looking up a good upper body circuit, it malfunctioned. I immediately knew what needed to be done.

I pulled out my pad, my pen and my fitness thinking cap and got to work. It was “go” time.

Since I absolutely loved the last yoga hybrid I created, I decided I should try to do it again. Now, let me tell you, it worked like a charm!

the chaturanga charge work out
What You Will Need:
Two three-five pound dumbbells, yoga mat, water and a towel

Warm Up
Lightly jog for five minutes and then complete ten sun salutations. If you’re feeling up to it, don’t hesitate to do the Sweaty Sun Salutes

Work Out
Complete the following circuit 3-4 times through, taking breaks only when needed. Try to hold your weights through the entire circuit. Drop them if you need to. Keep your core engaged. Focus on good yoga form.

Complete one Sweaty Sun Salute, return to the chaturanga position, hold for five seconds;
Return to plank and preform 50 mountain climbers (one rep includes both legs)

Jump forward into chair pose, then return to an upright position. Complete 20 bicep curls.

Complete one Sweaty Sun Salute, return to the chaturanga position, hold for five seconds;
Return to plank and preform 25 burpees (yes, with the weights in hand. Try your best)

Jump forward into chair pose, then return to an upright position. Complete 20 tricep kickbacks.

Complete one Sweaty Sun Salute, return to the chaturanga position, hold for five seconds;
Return to plank and preform 50 plank jacks (keep your core engaged)

Jump forward into chair pose, then return to an upright position. Complete 10 alternative forward raises and then 10 forward raises with both arms going simultaneously.

Complete one Sweaty Sun Salute and repeat.

This was a lot harder than I had anticipated. I did four rounds, holding 5 lb weights and I was a sweat ball by the end. Try to go four times through, for time, with minimal stops. It is harder than it looks, but feels so great.

I really loved this work out and plan to create more yoga-hybrid.

Anyhow, I need to head out. My friend is picking me up and we’re going to the mall to look at CDs!

Stay sweet

Caitlyn.

Leave a Reply

