Simple Sunday Survey

a simple saturday

out and a bout

Since yesterday was so beautiful, Baba and I took advantage of our day off to enjoy some lovely summertime weather. Originally the plan was to go to the Discovery Center and have a seriously awesome time with bubbles and other weird concoctions, but with the state of the weather, there was no use wasting it indoors.

So, instead, we walked the waterfront. It was absolutely beautiful a walk! It was an absolutely beautiful afternoon. Perfect, really.

Our first stop was this quaint, little Antique shop that I didn’t know existed. A little hole in the wall. I was so excited to have found it. Inside housed records, old nick-nacks, jewelry; you name it, and you’d find it there. Due to my recent interested in starting a seashell and ocean related collection, I contemplated purchasing a shell (yes, there was ample shell-age) but opted against it. The way I see it, my shell collection should begin with beautiful shells collected from the ocean, itself.

After was meandered about there – deciding to return – we decided to head to the Waterfront (hello, no brainer!) and head to the Market. This is where I found this!

This was a little more than a ‘hint’ of honey, if you know what I am sayin’!

After our stroll around the market, we decided to head out to eat. The walk back was so nice. Everyone was out and enjoying life. Smiling. Baba was in a good mood. It was bliss! Yes, I said it, ya jerk. Bliss!

Being that I am a total spaz, Baba was definitely the navigator of the afternoon. I could have easily had my eyes closed the entire time and I still managed to get from point a to point a without fail. Dinner was held at none other than my favorite place to eat: The Wooden Monkey.

This is my all-time favorite place to eat. I don’t know if it is the design, the food, the atmosphere or the workers. I think it is just everything. First of all, the waiters actually take the time to discover your personal needs as a consumer. They understand that in this day of age, people come with many different dietary restrictions (both Baba and I do: I maintain a generally low starch diet, while his stomach is unable to handle certain foods properly).  The staff is kind, warm-hearted and often humorous (one of the waiters did this neat flip-y thing with our glasses, that I just need to learn… to YouTube, with me!)

The food, in my opinion, is absolutely delightful. If going, I recommend one of the salads, their trio of dips (including a really interesting hummus – unlike any I’ve ever tasted) or their coconut quinoa pilaf. Absolutely amazing!

Baba ordered the BBQ chicken pizza sans onion and red pepper! He absolutely loved it – as he always seems to. He had polished the plate clean, which is not at all surprising to me. Only two nights prior, he single-handed-ly ate a sixteen inch pizza. I don’t know where he puts it!

I, on the other hand, enjoyed their Sweet Apple Salad avec 3 oz of free-range chicken and a whole grain mustard sauce. I loved it! The carrots and apple (which, I think, was granny smith) were done julienne and were  extremely tasty when eating together. It was sweet, crunchy and absolutely delish!

If you are ever in Halifax, Nova Scotia, I’d highly suggest you stop by and enjoy some grub!

a simple survey
An alphabetical list of simple things I love
A: Almond butter. Just simple almonds. Nothing makes me happier.
B: Babies. I absolutely love anything baby related. Sometimes, you’ll find me disappearing into the children section at my work place – or any store – to look at the baby stuff.
My cousins, Megan’s, son Jackson. HOW CUTE, RIGHT?
C: Coffee. I will attest to being a caffeine addict. Waking up to coffee every morning is the best feeling… ever.
D: Doodles. I am a avid doodler. Sometimes, there are lady bugs… with top hats. They’re fancy.
E: Elephant statues. I love elephants. One of my favorite animals.
F: Flowers. I honestly think that all problems can be solved when you are in the company of flowers.

G: Giving gifts. I love seeing the look on someone’s face when I give them something they’ve always really wanted. It’s so sweet.
H: High fives. I think they’re just as romantic as other physical forms of endearment. Plus, they’re positively reinforcing.
I: I love yous. Three itty bitty words. I say it a lot. I’ll just be sitting
J: Jumping Jacks. Gets the job done, am I right?
K: Kisses (fore head ones are the best)
L: Love. That’s all.
M: Mothers. I love Mothers. I mostly just love my Mother.

N: Necklaces – or jewelry – that holds significant meaning to you.
O: Omars. They’re simply wonderful.
(If you are not aware, this is Omar the Duck from one of my favorite Christmas movies)
You know, this one’s pretty okay, too…
P: Post-It Notes. I love writing notes to people on Post-Its. Ask Mama or Baba. They’ll tell you. 🙂
Q: Quiet time. I love the calm and still feeling of people being quiet and relaxed. AKA: I am pro-nap time.
R: Rain. When you’re inside and comfy/cozy. Best feeling ever. 🙂
S: Seashells. I love anything ocean related. To me, the ocean forces you to dream and aspire. When I look at the ocean, I feel anything is possible.
T:  Tea. I think it is my favorite drink of… ever.
U: Umbrellas! They’re right cutesy.
V: Vintage paintings and antiques. I love old things. They have stories. I want to know them.
W: Weddings and anything wedding related! I love love, guys.
X:  Xmas time! I love Christmas time. The baking, the music, the warmth, the family time. Ah, bliss! Also, watching The Ugly Duckling’s Christmas Wish, Annabelle Wish and The Tangerine Bear while it is snowing.
Y: Yogurt (greek). Addiction (yes).
Z:  Zooey Luigi Mearns. My pooch. I love her.
Yes, Zooey LUIGI. Like the Mario character. 🙂

today’s work out

So, this morning, I had a stroke of genius!

This was a lot of fun! Try it out 🙂

Stay sweet.

Leave a Reply

