Simple Sundays: Mother-Daughter and Surfer Girl Work Out

simple sunday
Last night Mama and I did something we haven’t done in a really long time. We watched a movie! Not just any movie! One of the best movies of all time. We watched Steel Magnolias!
If you’ve never seen Steel Magnolias, I’d suggest you go watch it right now – especially if you’re a woman who is close to her mother. So, today’s Simple Sunday is simply: Mother and Daughter Movies. I will list to you my top three favorite!
First and foremost, the inspiration itself:
First of all, look at that cast! Julia Roberts, Sally Field, Dolly Parton… you know things will be good when Dolly is involved (does anyone else agree that Dolly owns the song ‘I Will Always Love You’? I don’t care what everyone says, it’s hers). The relationship between Sally Field and Julia Roberts is absolutely breathtaking! Throughout the movie, they share little smirks and eyes, which really allow the viewers to get a feel for how strongly they care for each other.

It’s amazing.

The story follows a group of women living in a small town. Sally Field is the mother of Julia Robert’s character, who is a newly wed with a bad case of diabetes. Her case is so severe that doctors warn her about carrying a child – a piece of advice that is paid little heed. Soon, Robert’s character does, in fact, become pregnant and opts to keep the child. This creates a bond between the mother and daughter and a story that is both heartbreaking and comical at the same time. Honestly, while watching this movie, you’re not sure if you’re crying because you’re so sad, or your laughing so hard. I think it might be both.
The characters played by Olympia Dukakis and Shirley MacLaine (does anyone else not love this woman?) are my personal favorites. Throughout the entire film their constant banter and general regard to one another is so humorous you find yourself wishing that there was more of it. They love to hate each other; it’s absolutely hilarious. There are several parts in the film where I was concerned about having a laugh-inducing accident in my drawers.
Again, I say, should you be of the unfortunate group of people who haven’t seen this movie. Go, no. Watch it. You’ll regret nothing.

First I’d like to say that it is complete coincidence that this movie also stars Julia Roberts.
 Susan Sarandon and Julia Roberts will steal your heart in this timeless story of two women brought together by circumstances that are ideal to no one. Sarandon plays a divorced mother of two, who wants nothing more than to be everything her children could ever desire. Unfortunately when her ex-husband (Ed Harris) becomes involved with another woman (Roberts), her natural instincts cause her behaviors to often bias and driven by jealousy.
Both the story and characters within this movie come with many levels. During some moments you want to absolutely shake Sarandon’s character for being closed-minded, yet at the same time you find yourself slowly falling in love with her. Likewise, Julia Roberts plays a genuinely likable character – especially considering in the simplest terms she is portraying the ‘other woman’.
Similarly to Steel Magnolias, this movie will have you both laughing and crying (I’m beginning to wonder if this is a common theme among mother-daughter flicks). During one scene you’ll be dancing your heart out, and in the next you’ll be reaching for the tissues.
I truthfully don’t believe that they make movies like this anymore.
If you have not seen this movie, I again suggest you go pick it up!
The last is not a movie at all…
…but a show.
This show has also held a very special place in my heart. Maybe it is because through most of my high school career, I was endlessly compared to the character of Rory Gilmore (something that has been both a great compliment and a huge annoyance), or maybe it was simply due to the fact that it mirrors very closely the relationship held between my mother and I.
As mentioned, throughout my days, I’ve had several people ask me if this show was in some way loosely based off my life. Their reasons included: you are a the proverbial ‘good girl’, you’re close to your mother, you have a passion for writing and journalism, popular culture references make up about 55% of my dialogue and I am have a slight caffeine addiction and a mouth the won’t quit… talking.
During high school I disagreed. I mean, yes, it was a total compliment, but at the same time it made me feel as if I had to live up to the high expectations of a one Ms. Rory Gilmore (I simply do not believe anyone is that perfect). Now, looking back, I truly see where it is everyone is coming from. No, I am not suggesting that I am the real life Rory Gilmore, I’m just saying that I do see a great deal of parallels – mostly in dealing with the relationship between my mother and I.
If you’ve never watched this show, I suggest you proceed with caution as it is not for everyone. Perhaps you should chug back an 18oz mug of strong coffee beforehand. It might be for the best.
Other Movies That I Love:
1. How to Make an American Quilt
2. The Divine Secrets of the YaYa Sisterhood
3. Little Women
4. Terms of Endearment
5. Anywhere But Here
What are some of your all-time favorite Mother/Daughter films?
think-y thoughts
I haven’t made a really good post about fitness lately, so I thought it was about time.
I will never understand why people are so comparative – myself, included – in regard to their fitness regime. Yesterday, I went out to coffee with a friend and she informed me that she worked out for the first time in a while the night before. She did forty minutes of cardio, followed by an additional x amount (I can’t recall the number) of meters in the pool. My first reaction? ‘Holy mother! I never exceed 45 minutes in a workout. That includes my warm up and cool down! Clearly, I am not doing enough’.
Then I said to myself (in my head, so I didn’t freak her out): “Caitlyn, cut that out!”.
Why do I do that?
I mean, no, I don’t exceed that much time. That doesn’t mean I couldn’t. I just don’t feel the need. Being that I used to be a cardio junkie, I still sometimes feel badly about cutting my cardio down so much. Instead of an hour daily, I’m doing 20 minutes each day along with toning and stretching. Since I began this system my body has changed in so many positive ways, yet hearing this still made me feel inadequate.
I think it is highly important for people to continually evaluate their own personal goals when they become interested in maintaining a physically active lifestyle. As human beings were are consistently changing, so why should our workouts be any different? Who knows, in a few months time, I might hate what I am doing now and become strictly interested in walking and yoga. Or maybe I’ll try out CrossFit or something equally and action-packed and become interested in pursuing that. Who knows? With fitness, it should always been about what makes you feel food in that given moment.
If you hate running long distances (Hello!), don’t do it. If you think yoga is pointless (although, I think everyone should include some kind of stretching into their weekly routine), steer clear of the ‘OM’… it’s not rocket science, it’s fitness. I know it is a cliche, but find something that you love and stick with it! Now that I follow this I wake up every morning thinking, “I can’t wait to work out!” instead of thinking “God damn, I need to work out”.
So please! Should you be guilty of being far too concerned with how your fitness routine matches up to someone else’s, ask yourself three questions:
1. Do I like my work outs?
2. Do I get excited to work out?
3. Do I feel good after my work out?

If you said ‘yes’ to all three (which, I have), then please disregard that comparative nature and keep on trucking!
At the end of the day, the only thing that matters is how you feel.

Speaking of which, today I had a GREAT work out. Sunday’s are the one day I extend my 20 minute cardio to 30 minutes and pair it with a 15-30 minute stretching session. My cardio today was designed by me and inspiring by… surfing! Why? Because it is summer and that is when people surf…

This definitely will make you sweat and get your heart rate up. With some really good music, it’s an awesome workout!

Well, that’s all I’ve got for you today.

Stay sweet,

Caitlyn

2 thoughts on “Simple Sundays: Mother-Daughter and Surfer Girl Work Out

    • Aww thank you! I didn’t look too cute doing it, I’ll tell you.
      I worried that the surfer jumps would get too redundant, but they didn’t! With the right music, it’s an awesome way to sweat it out!

      I love Gilmore Girls, too. When I was in high school I was known as Rory to a handful of people. 😛 I thought that they were crazy. No one is that perfect.

      Thanks!

      I like your blog!

Leave a Reply

